1. Technology
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Transfer Categories Without Account Transactions to a New Quicken Data File

Working with Your Financial Data

By

You can start over in Quicken with an empty data file and keep the scheduled transactions, memorized payees, transaction groups, and spending categories from your current file. The payees, categories, etc. can be removed or edited after the file is copied. If you want to make a copy of a data file and keep transactions, see How to Copy a Quicken Data File.
  1. Click on File menu, File Operations, Copy.
  2. In the Copy the current Quicken file field, you can accept the location and name for the copied file name (current file name with Cpy added), but you can rename it to something that makes sense to you.

    Renaming the data file:

    • Quicken data file names start with a slash and end with .QDF. The new file name needs to be entered between the slash and .QDF. Type over any other part of the location and file name, and the file won't save correctly if at all, but you can cancel out and start the Copy command over again if you need to.
    • You will get an error if your use any of these characters in the file name: * ? < > | " : \ / .
    • It's usually best to leave the location as it is unless you understand the folder structure on your PC. To change the location, click on Browse in the File Copy box then navigate to the location that you want the file saved to.
    • If you used Quicken attachments in the original data file, the attachments will be saved only if there is enough space on your computer.
  3. In the Include Transactions From and To fields, enter dates that are later than the last transaction in the current file. Using future dates works well.
  4. Clear the two Include All check boxes.
  5. Click on OK
  6. After the file is copied, you have the option of going directly into the new file to use it or using your old Quicken data file.
What's In the New File

The new file that you've created will have no transactions in account registers, but will have an opening balance equal to the ending balance in your old data file. If you want to zero out the opening balances, you can delete them.

Your old budget will still be in place, but you can set up a new budget (see Set Up a Budget in Quicken 2013, Quicken 2012 or Quicken 2011 or earlier for more information).

Scheduled transactions, memorized payees, transaction groups will remain. Edit or delete these as needed.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.